Review| First Aid Beauty Kit

Hi guys, another review for you all. I’d never heard of this product until I got an email from beautybay.com about their top selling products, and at the time my skin was very dry and reactive. Anyways one of the brands shown was First Aid Beauty (F.A.B) which I had never heard of before, it said that all products contained NO parabens, harsh chemicals or colorants and was safe for sensitive skin. I read really good reviews about all the products online so I thought I’d try the products out. I brought the First Aid Beauty: Fab Favs to go Kit, which contains a face cleanser, facial radiance pads and their ‘cult product’ the ultra repair cream, which cost £19.50.

Fav Favs to Go Kit

Fav Favs to Go Kit

First impression was that I loved the packaging – stars and stripes, fitting for it being an american brand. The sizes were relatively good for the price, especially when you look at the price of the products individually.

Packaging: Stars and Stripes

Packaging: Stars and Stripes

The Cleanser is nice and light and silky. The description says that it has a ‘whipped texture that transforms into a rich cream when blended with water’, which I’d say is pretty accurate. It doesn’t smell of much – its kind of just plain soap smell? It leaves your skin feeling really clean although I thought it was a little bit drying. But I liked it and thought I could just moisturise after, which I do anyways. It replaced the daily cleanser that I was using however I’ve now found a new cleanser recently which is really hydrating on the skin and have stop using the FAB one.

After cleansing, you use the Facial Radiance Pads on your face, which are easy to use – once I was able to get through the most difficult product seal I’ve ever encountered! They’re a bit like the Oxy pads that I’m sure most of you are familiar with from your teenage years – they have a bumpy texture to them and are meant to exfoliate, tone and brighten the skin.

Facial Radiance Pad

Facial Radiance Pad

Now I liked the idea of these, gently exfoliating the skin without the use of a harsh scrub on the face and although they contain chemical exfoliators, because the FAB range are produced for sensitive skin customers, they’re suppose to NOT irritate. However I found that they did on mine, more around my neck and chin where my skin is more reactive, I also found them to be really drying on my skin and I didn’t finish the pot of pads. I was really disappointed, I was ok with them when I first started using them but when I started using them everyday – it really wasn’t beneficial for my skin, personally.

The final thing in the kit is the Ultra Repair Cream, which can be used all over face and body. It provides intense therapy for parched skin, relieves minor irritation and itching due to eczema and other conditions. I was skeptical about how a body lotion could also be used on your face cream, and vice versa – however I just used this on my face and not the body as I’m currently using Diprobase. Like the cleanser, the texture is light and whipped, and a little goes a long way.

Ultra Repair Cream: texture

Ultra Repair Cream: texture

Again this product, like the cleanser, doesn’t have much of a smell, which didn’t bother me much but I had to get use to it because my daily face cream I have been using for the last 2 years smells amazing (The Body Shop Vitamin E Intense Moisture Cream). I wasn’t blown away by this product tbh. Yes it hydrates, but the way my skin is atm it just wasn’t hydrating enough, but it is a product I would probably use more in the summer, when my skin is at its best.

All in all, the products do what they say on the tin, but I didn’t have a lightbulb moment where I was like “I can’t live without having these products”. But they are good products, just not amazing ones. Sorry First Aid Beauty!

Have any of you used any of their products? What did you think?

Twitter  | Bloglovin | Instagram

Leave a comment